Review

Spoiler Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

IMG_0624.JPG

Pages- 638

Genre- Fantasy, Young Adult and Romance.

Release Date- May 27th 2014

Published By- Margarek K. McEldery

Source from Goodreads

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.
Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.
The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?
When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…
Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Review 4 stars

This is book 6 in The Mortal Instruments series.

Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon and Alec must run to save the Shadowhunter’s. Sebastian must be stopped they will do anything. Lives are lost, love plays a big  part and someone must do something life changing so everyone survives.

I have been putting off reading this book for sometime now, purely of the size mainly because this series has been hit or miss for me. I am actually really happy I have read this book I gave it 4 stars which is the highest rating I have given any of the books in this series.

So where do I even begin with this one I guess I’ll start with what I was expecting before i started reading it. I will be honest with you i was expecting it to be really slow and be dragged on, i was expecting a few more deaths then there actually was. Lastly i was expecting the ending to be quick and end abruptly but it wasn’t we got a few chapters at the end about what happens next which i actually really liked reading.

The one question had been, do Magus and Alec get back together?

Starting off with the characters Jace has to deal with the heavenly fire that is inside of him, he has to cope with not being able to touch Clary but he needs to learn how to control it as he is scared about hurting anybody. Clary hasn’t been my favorite throughout this series there was so much going on in this book that Clary didn’t stand out to me. Simon I do really like him I felt so bad for him though but he gets what he wants. Then we have Sebastian who is turning shadowhunters evil, but as he is dying we got a couple of minutes of the kind side to him which actually broke my heart I sort of wished we got longer with the nice side.

What I liked about this book was that there was a lot happening, I liked that we still got to see the funny sarcastic sides of the character that we all love.

The ending was very…very predictable , very happy everybody got what they wanted. I suppose if you was a fan from the start then this series would have been perfect for you, for me I was expecting something more, something to wow me.

Like every book in this series there is so much describing and the world building is amazing. We also get to meet some new characters which I actually liked, they also go through some stuff.

Thank you for reading, feel free to leave a comment down below.

Leave a Reply

