Bookish

Lets Have A Natter: Is reading a book that you have high expectations for a good or bad thing.

IMG_0469.JPG

Most of the books I have read are all mostly hyped about so when you do pick it up of course you are going to have expectations.

Whenever I do pick up a book I do try to forget what people have said about the book as i want to make my own opinions, however i can’t get ‘must read’ or ‘amazing’ out the back of my head at times.

Most of the time I totally understand why the book is hyped up however you do get the odd book where you don’t get why. Whenever this happens to me I am always disappointed as I really wanted to enjoy it as much as everybody else did. I very rarely put down a book i will always carry on reading to see if something amazing happens.

An example of a book that is hyped up is I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, I have to say this book was a complete cover buy. However loads of people love this book but in all honestly I didn’t enjoy it as much as everybody else does.

Overall I think it’s not a bad thing to have high expectations, where there’s hype there is going to be expectations.

What book did you read that you had high expectations for? Did you enjoy it?

Did you read a book that you had low expectations for which surprised you with how much you enjoyed it?

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

